

## **JOINT COMMUNIQUE**

WE, the representatives of local governments – municipal, local level governments, provinces, districts, cities, and states – local government associations and partners from the six member countries of the Coral Triangle Initiative on Coral Reefs, Fisheries and Food Security (CTI-CFF) who participated in the Mayors Round Table held in Wakatobi, Indonesia on 16-19 May 2011 agree to collaborate; share information, experience and expertise; and advocate policies to achieve the goals of the CTI-CFF. Toward this end, we have developed this Vision: *By 2016, we see ourselves as resourced, innovative, informed, and effective local governments collaborating, sharing information, experience and expertise, and advocating policies to achieve the goals of the Coral Triangle Initiative on Coral Reefs, Fisheries and Food Security.* 

Furthermore, we agree to undertake the following actions in the next two years:

- Meet regularly in a CTI-CFF Mayors Round Table to be co-hosted by NCC and a local government, local government alliance, or local government association in each CT6 country;
- 2) Promote awareness or understanding among local governments and other local stakeholders about the CTI-CFF;
- 3) Identify a CTI-CFF local government focal point in each country to liaise with and advocate representation on the NCC, as well as coordinate with CTI-CFFlocal government focal points in other member countries;
- 4) Explore opportunities for regional dialogue on best practices, exchange, and collaboration of expertise among member countries in local environmental governance, sustainable coastal management, and community resiliency; and
- 5) Identify and develop learning destinations in each country to share experiences and best practices in local environmental governance, sustainable coastal management, and community resiliency.

Signed on 19 May 2011 in Wakatobi, Southeast Sulawesi, Indonesia.

Hon. HUGUA, Regent,

Wakatobi, Southeast Sulawesi

INDONESL

Hon. HUGUA, Chairman of Environment and Natural Resources Conservation Division, **APKASI** MALAXSIA HAJI MOHAMAD ŠAID HINAYAT, Undersecretary, Sabah State Secretary's Office, Chief Minister Department, Sabah PAPUA NEW GUINEA Hon. JOHN GAA, President, Hon. JOHN TORRIE POPOT, President, Bialla Local Level Government, Nali Sopat Penabu Local Level Government, West New Britain Province Manus Province PHILIPPINE M. SANCHEZ JUAN Municipal Mayor, Calbiga, Samar / Head of Municipal Mayor, Ludang, Occidental Mindoro Delegation for League of Municipalities of the **Philippines** Ms. BELINDA F. CASTRO PEDRO M. TRINIDAD JR. Department of the Interior and Local Municipal Mayor, Cortes, Surigao del Sur Government / NCO Representative Mr. VICTORINO E. AQUITANIA ROMMEL L. MARTINEZ
Chief, RPPO, National Secretariat, League of ICLEI Local Governments for Sustainability-Southeast Asia, Inc. Municipalities of the Philippines

Mr. SARIMUN HADISAPUTRA,

**Executive Director, APEKSI** 

## SOLOMON ISLANDS

Hon. GEORGE SOLINGI LILO, Premier, Western Provincial Government

Hon. **PAUL JACKSON KILOE**, Premier, Choiseul Provincial Government Amax

Hon. JOHN PATTESON MAE, Premier, Central Islands Provincial Government

**TIMOR-LESTE** 

Hon. ZEFERINO DOS SANTOS SEQUEIRA, Administrador (Bupati/Regent),

Lautem

Hon. MANECAS DA CONCEICAO
SOARES, Administrador
(Camat/Subdistrict Head), Sub Distrito Atauro

Hon. **DOMINGOS MARTINS**, Administrador (Bupati/Regent), Bolonaro

Mr. AUGUSTO FERNANDES, National Director for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Ministry

or for Fisheries and Aquaculture of Agriculture and Fisheries

WITNESSED BY

Hon. H. SALEH LASATA

Vice Governor Southeast Sulawesi